Grand theft refers to a specific intent crime where a person takes someone else’s property intending to steal or deprive the victim of it. Generally, this crime comprises theft of any property valued at $300 and above. If found guilty of this crime, the penalty is jail time and a fine.

In addition, you carry the conviction forever if found guilty. This will be troublesome, especially when applying for jobs, as employers will be wary of these charges. However, for the charges to hold, you must have knowingly and unlawfully taken someone’s property, intended to deprive the owner of their property, and the property was above $300.

Florida has different statutes to deal with grand theft crimes. Here is all you need to know about Florida grand theft.

What is Florida Grand Theft?

According to Florida law, grand theft refers to any unlawful and intentional obtaining of property valued at $750 and above. This crime is a felony offense with penalties like imprisonment, fines, restitution, probation, and a permanent criminal record. It also refers to any unlawful use of someone’s property to deprive them of their rights to the property.

Florida Grand Theft Proof at Trial

For the prosecution to hold the defendant accountable for grand theft, they must establish that the defendant unlawfully and knowingly took or used someone’s property and that they did so with the intention of permanently or temporarily depriving the owner of their right to property or to hinder them from benefiting from it.

In addition, the prosecution should prove that the defendant appropriated the property for their personal use or another person not entitled to it and that the property was worth $750 and above. The prosecution should prove these three elements beyond a reasonable doubt if the case is to be held at trial.

Penalties of Florida Grand Theft

Under Florida law, the penalties for grand theft depend on the type of property and its value.

Third-degree grand theft

Florida grand theft will be considered third-degree if the property’s value is between $750 and $20,000. In addition, it should be a will or testamentary instrument, a motor vehicle, firearm, fire extinguisher, citrus fruits with at least 2,000 and above pieces of fruit, commercially farmed animal, a stop sign, or any property whose value is between $100 and $750 taken from an enclosed dwelling curtilage.

If the property is any of the above, the felony is punishable by a maximum of five years imprisonment or probation and a $5,000 fine.

Second-degree Florida grand theft

A grand theft crime is considered a second-degree felony if the property’s value is between $20,000 and $100,000 or cargo whose value is below $50,000 and has entered the interstate or intrastate commerce stream from the shipper to the consignee’s dock.

In addition, it can be emergency medical tools whose value is $300 and above taken from a licensed facility, aircraft, or permitted vehicle, or law enforcement equipment valued at above $300 taken from any authorized emergency vehicle.

In this case, the felony is punishable by a maximum of 15 years in prison or probation and a $100,000 fine.

Conclusion

If you are a suspect of grand theft in Florida, it is impediment to understand what Florida grand theft laws stipulate and find a lawyer for your defense in court.