AFL Brownlow Medal Ultimate Guide

The Charles Brownlow Trophy is better known as Brownlow Medal among AFL fans. It is the highest form of prestige that an AFL athlete can achieve. The medal is provided in Australian rules football. As the 2022 AFL season is coming to an end this month, fans are growing increasingly excited about the most prestigious title event. This article will help you figure out when and where to tune in to witness the event unfold.

What is the Brownlow Medal?

The Brownlow Medal, popularly known as the ‘Charles Brownlow Trophy,’ is awarded to the best and fairest player in the AFL. It was first given in 1924 and has been given every season since, with the exception of 1942-45 due to World War II.

The medal is named after Charles Brownlow. Charles Brownlow was a former Geelong Football Club footballer (1880-1891), club secretary (1885-1923), and VFL president (1918-19). He passed away in January 1924 after a severe illness.

How is the Medalist Chosen?

The winner of each season’s Brownlow Trophy is chosen via umpire’s voting. The umpires allocate three votes to the best player, two to the second-best player, and one to the third-best player at the end of each game throughout the home-and-away season. On the night of the ceremony, the votes are tabulated and revealed. The player with the most votes earns the Brownlow Medal if he is eligible.

The AFL Tribunal’s suspension of a player during the home-and-away season disqualifies him from participating in the medal competition. No matter how many votes he receives, an ineligible player cannot claim the Medal. This actually happened in 1996, 1997, and 2012, when Corey McKernan, Chris Grant, and Jobe Watson were all disqualified for the Brownlow Medal.

When is the Brownlow Medal 2022?

The Brownlow Medal is an individual event. It is a grand ceremony, traditionally held on the night before the AFL grand final day. The previous AFL 2021 season’s ceremony commenced on Sunday, September 19th, 2021.

The 2022 season’s AFL grand final will be held on this coming Saturday, September 24th 2022. The Brownlow ceremony is therefore anticipated to take place on Monday, September 19, 2022.

Where & How to Watch the Brownlow Medal 2022?

The Brownlow Awards were previously televised live on the Seven Network. Furthermore, Seven Network has the exclusive right to broadcast and cover AFL and AFLW events. So, this year will be no exception. Channel 7 will, as usual, broadcast the upcoming Brownlow Medal online.

The popular national Australian football competition, AFL, is currently underway. The AFL management will soon formally announce all information regarding media arrangements as well as final event dates and hours. Keep an eye on our website for the most up-to-date information on upcoming events and ongoing scorecards.